My birthday, friends and family in Juba - Reisverslag uit Juba, Soedan van Anika Snel - WaarBenJij.nu My birthday, friends and family in Juba - Reisverslag uit Juba, Soedan van Anika Snel - WaarBenJij.nu

My birthday, friends and family in Juba

Door: anikasnel

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anika

23 Juni 2011 | Soedan, Juba

Hi there,

First of all, I would like to thank everyone who has congratulated me with my birthday, whether it was by mail, Facebook, text messages, Skype or through my blog. I had a great day last Sunday, and every single message certainly added to that. For my birthday, I organised a BBQ at the compound for the ICCO staff and some of the friends I have made during my stay here, with ‘noma choma’ (the roasted goat, not slaughtered by me, no worries), music, lots of beer and wine. Some of the people present I have mentioned in previous blogs, like Malish Amule, Ochan Christopher, Jamal and Christopher. Others that were present were of course Andy from VNG, Evans, Peter and Kalisto from ICCO and Kalisto’s brother. Stephen unfortunately could not be present. He had finally gained permission from his payam Director to visit his family in Western Equatoria, something which he had been trying to get for weeks now.

But despite the fact he could not be there, Stephen was sort-of present, because of the dress that he has given me for my birthday. I have included some pictures of the BBQ last Sunday, where I can be seen wearing the dress in the honour of my absent friend. If people pay close attention, you can also see that I am the only woman present. Yvonne is still in Kampala and Rosemary, the Office Manager from ICCO is currently recovering from Malaria. I hadn’t even noticed that I was the only woman present, until Peter, the new Country Manager of ICCO, remarked at the end of the evening this must have been the first birthday ever where there were only men present. I can’t say I mind, friends are friends after all XD.

I have even received some presents here; the day before I went hiking with Ochan to one of the tops of Jebel Kujur for a spectacular view of Juba as an early present. We went at five in the afternoon (during the day it was way too hot) and we footed from the compound up to the one of the largest slopes of the mountain. From there we hiked to one of the four tops of the mountain. The mountain itself is not that high - only 700 meters or so - but hiking it in Juba heat is quite an undertaking. Both me and Ochan were sweating quite a bit, but the view from the top of the mountain was definitely worth the effort. From the top we could see the entire city of Juba, up to the river bank, and even the Gumbo area of Rajaf payam beyond the river. From the top of the mountain it was easy to see how far spread the city is nowadays. Juba is still expanding outwards, instead of upwards like most capitals have done. But the first buildings higher than three floors will start have already started appearing, and I expect that amount will expand in no-time. At the top we also enjoyed the sunset, and we walked back to the compound when dusk had fallen across the city. All in all, it was a really great experience.

No birthday cake this year though, because the bakers of Markos went home last Thursday and Markos had to close temporarily as a result. But the ‘noma choma’ tasted just as fine. And as far as I know, people enjoyed themselves, and from several people I have heard that they really appreciated the party. People here in Southern Sudan generally don’t celebrate their birthday, either because they have no idea when their birthday really is, or because it was never part of their culture or simply because there is little to celebrate because of problems like poverty and conflict. For me, celebrating my birthday here was not only to have a good time with my new friends and ‘family’, but also to show some appreciation for the opportunity of being able to stay here at the compound.

Because the compound somehow managed to become ‘home’ during the past seven weeks. I’ve noticed that when I am walking back from Customs and people ask me (well, shout ‘khawaja’ at me and then sort of ask me) where I am going or what I am doing, I have started to reply to them, ‘I am going home’. Not that I don’t miss ‘home’, as in Utrecht, my own apartment, my friends and family occasionally (mostly when I’ve had a bad day regarding fieldwork or the times I am still confronted with the fact South Sudan is truly a post-conflict society). But it is good that I have found my place here, which is quite a different statement from what I have written in my first blog about Juba, about the feeling of being disconnected to Juba and its society.

What of course helped was starting fieldwork and becoming immensely involved with that. Also, exploring the different areas of Juba – both the luxurious ones like the hotels, swimming pools and restaurants, and the places for the ‘commoners’ such as the markets or the different bus parks whenever I need to take the matatu – have made me quite familiar with the city and its people. Moreover, what made me feel at home is spending time with the new friends I’ve made here. Like exploring the river bank with Malish or eating an ice cream with Stephen or just chatting with Ochan before heading out for interviews, joking with Christopher in the car, baking pancakes with Yvonne or sitting with Evans and Peter on Evans’ veranda enjoying during the evening.

And here I am, almost three months later, feeling at home here in Munuki, having celebrated my birthday in Juba. And fieldwork is almost done as well. Today, I will be going to Northern Bari payam, to conduct the first of my final interviews there. I hope to wrap up the interviews and some extra observations in the beginning of next week. Time has gone by so fast. With only two-and-a-half weeks left, there are so many places I still would like to visit, so many things I still would like to do, like visiting Jamal his family again before I leave and meeting Christopher’s family as well or going for another hike at Jebel Kujur or visiting the University of Juba and the parliament and of course attending some of the celebrations for independence. Interesting times ahead ^^.

With love,

Anika

  • 23 Juni 2011 - 10:53

    Françoise:

    Klinkt weer super! Je haar wordt lang ;) Geniet van je laatste weekjes daar! Zoen

  • 23 Juni 2011 - 11:58

    Michelle:

    Indrukwekkend verhaal weer An!
    Succes en veel plezier de laatste weken!

    xx

  • 23 Juni 2011 - 15:49

    Lon:

    Mooi verhaal an, geniet van je laatste 2,5 week.
    xx lon

  • 23 Juni 2011 - 17:51

    Marina:

    Hoi Anika
    Mooi verhaal weer en leuke foto's van je verjaardag:).
    Succes met de laatste interviews en observaties.
    En geniet van de leuke dingen die je de komende 2 weken nog gaat ondernemen.
    Lieve groetjes xxx

  • 23 Juni 2011 - 20:28

    Marina:

    Hey Anika wat een leuke foto's van die familiedag.
    Een dag om nooit te vergeten.
    Liefs

  • 24 Juni 2011 - 12:47

    Jeroen:

    Wat een mooi blog! De jurk is prachtig. Ik kan niet wachten totdat ik hem in het echt mag bewonderen. Dat het mooie ‘blonde meisje’ niet meer ‘wat verlaten rond’ loopt, maar zich steeds meer thuis voelt daar in het verre Zuiden doet me erg goed.
    De foto’s van het familiebezoek aan Jamal zijn stuk voor stuk prachtig. Ik hoop dat je er nog een keer naar toe kunt gaan. De foto met al die kindertjes om je heen vind ik, zoals ik al zei, het mooist en het meest interessant. De verschillende kleuren, de nieuwsgierige koppies, hun houdingen, het moment van geluk, maar ook zoals je zei de gedachte en vraag hoe hun toekomst eruit ziet in een nieuw land, een land dat zoveel problemen kent en zo’n onzekere toekomst heeft in een wereld die de komende jaren ingrijpend zal veranderen. De foto met het tweejarige mannetje, nu ik het verhaal een beetje ken en ik terwijl ik de foto naast me zie liggen, ontroert me eigenlijk het meest. Het raakt je en je weet dat je zo weinig kunt doen.
    Ik ben benieuwd hoe de komende twee weken er uit gaan zien: ik hoop nog veel meer prachtige ervaringen. Hou ons op de hoogte van je belevenissen, gedachten en foto’s. Hou van je!

  • 25 Juni 2011 - 08:48

    Mella:

    Hai Anika, ik had begin van de week alleen de verjaardagsfoto's gezien en een deel gelezen en het viel me idd op, jij was enigste dame in het gezelschap! Lees nu de rest en zie de andere foto's ze zijn "kleurrijk en ontroerend" tegelijk. Succes en geniet nog deze laatste 2 weken, ze zijn zo om en dan kom je weer in een heel andere wereld terecht.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anika

A twenty-something and generally happy-go-lucky person who wants to do so many things with so little time, and who simply has decided that you can also build up a career outside of the Netherlands. Because being adventurous is fun. Consequently, she has ended up in Mitrovica and now Pristina, Kosovo. 'Nuff said.

Actief sinds 22 April 2011
Verslag gelezen: 681
Totaal aantal bezoekers 124782

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Februari 2013 - 11 Mei 2014

Groeten uit Mitrovica!

23 April 2011 - 10 Juli 2011

From Sudan with love

Landen bezocht: