Until we meet again South Sudan - Reisverslag uit Juba, Zuid Sudan van Anika Snel - WaarBenJij.nu Until we meet again South Sudan - Reisverslag uit Juba, Zuid Sudan van Anika Snel - WaarBenJij.nu

Until we meet again South Sudan

Door: anikasnel

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anika

20 Oktober 2011 | Zuid Sudan, Juba

Hi there,

Summer has ended, meaning my 83 days of adventure in Africa are getting further behind me. Thesis writing has proven more difficult than expected; transcribing takes too long for my taste and does not motivate me for the actual writing and I have been distracted by several other things - some good, like meeting up for lunch with Jan Pronk to discuss the interview I have done with him for one of my Master courses and of course my time in Sudan and chairing a workshop on loval governance at the Peace of Minds Academy of Upact this August - and some bad, such as my former tennant who has been uncooperative with the rent. A lesson learned for next time.

Having said that, one of the other things closely connected to my thesis are the pictures I have taken. It would be a waste not to use them, since some of them perfectly fit with the points I intend to raise in the different chapters on the challenges street-level bureaucrats in Juba and surrounding payams face. Therefore, and to turn this blog into an actual photo album, I have been going through all my pictures and came to the realisation I am missing the ones of my 'Goodbye breakfast' that I had organised on the day of my departure.

Being present for the independence of South Sudan felt good and has provided me with a sense of contentment. It made saying goodbye to everyone the following morning at breakfast less difficult than I had expected. As a thank-you I had organised a pancake breakfast for all members of the ICCO staff at the compound, Mozes from the African Union, Gemma and friends such as Ochan and Stephen. Of course saying goodbye – or rather ‘until we meet again’ – was not very easy. It was a fun and relaxed breakfast, with farewell presents from my side and of course several goodbye speeches. But I am quite certain that I’ll be going back to the Republic of South Sudan somewhere during the next five years.

The rest, as we say, is history; I enjoyed a seven hour delay at Juba International Airport before landing on the 11th of July in Brussels. By now I have gotten used to the Dutch weather again, and I have started to feel quite at home again here in Utrecht. All I need to do now is finish my thesis, although that will probably be another challenge the next coming period.

Until the next adventure!

With love,

Anika

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anika

A twenty-something and generally happy-go-lucky person who wants to do so many things with so little time, and who simply has decided that you can also build up a career outside of the Netherlands. Because being adventurous is fun. Consequently, she has ended up in Mitrovica and now Pristina, Kosovo. 'Nuff said.

Actief sinds 22 April 2011
Verslag gelezen: 627
Totaal aantal bezoekers 124766

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Februari 2013 - 11 Mei 2014

Groeten uit Mitrovica!

23 April 2011 - 10 Juli 2011

From Sudan with love

Landen bezocht: